Tags

, ,

( T )

People who know me know that I have a very crude sense of humour. I must admit I’m the first to laugh at an inappropriate joke whether it be racist or sexist. Although I may sound a little hypocritical I do believe there are limits. When I read what some ignorant people posted over Twitter about Joel Ward I was simply shocked. For those that aren’t familiar with what happened Joel Ward plays in the NHL for the Washington Capitals and scored the game winning goal in game 7 last night, oh and he’s black. Following the victory some shameless fools abruptly flooded Twitter with comments such as:

  • “Hey Joel Ward!! You [expletive] spear chucking monkey, why don’t you actually DO SOMETHING. You’re totally irrelevant”
  • “How the [expletive] did Joel ward get out of my plantation? #WheresMyCotton”
  • “Warning to Joel Ward. You’re one of three black guys in Canada. I will find you…and I will kill you.”

There is no humour in this, no matter how you slice it this is an example of pure racism and hate. What puzzles me is how stupid one has to be to broadcast something like that on their public Twitter account? Race has always been a sensitive subject that not many people want to touch, in my opinion we need to get rid of the word all together. We need to stop talking about “the first black (insert job position here)”, the sooner we stop differentiating each other as being white vs brown vs asian the sooner we’ll realize we’re all the same.

“We are not enemies, but friends. We must not be enemies. Though passion may have strained it must not break our bonds of affection. The mystic chords of memory will swell when again touched, as surely they will be, by the better angels of our nature.” – Abraham Lincoln

